<u>Recipients of the Jack Christie/Ken Loftus Award for Distinguished Scientific</u> <u>Contributions toward Understanding Healthy Great Lakes Ecosystems</u>

YEAR	RECIPIENT	REASON
2016	Charles Krueger	For a highly productive science-based management-focused career that expanded our ecological knowledge of Great Lakes fishery resources. As a U.S. Commissioner, he served as Vice-chair, Chair, and U.S. Section Chair. As Science Director, the expanded board membership and targeted innovative research themes; emphasizing transformative research.
2015	Mohamed Faisal	For establishing a dynamic, responsive and extremely productive aquatic animal health program, with research tailored to the emerging needs of the Great Lakes basin, and for outreach to ensure that new discoveries are widely shared and available to managers.
2014	James Johnson	For decades of work to advance lake trout restoration, for working closely with fishery managers and interagency partners to foster progress, and for applying science in a practical manner to make progress on fish community goals.
2013	Mark Ebener	For science supporting most of the critical decisions behind lake trout, whitefish, and cisco management and recovery in the upper Great Lakes; for improving the understanding of Great Lakes ecosystems, and for applying science to sound fishery management.
2012	Jim Bence	For large-scale research projects to understand food-web and population dynamics in each of the Great Lakes, which has helped agencies manage Great Lakes fish populations.
2011	James Kitchell	For a distinguished career of teaching and conducting research in the Great Lakes basin. Specifically, his research regarding food web responses to ecosystem changes, trophic cascades, and fish bioenergetics has contributed to healthy Great Lakes ecosystems through improved fishery management decision making.
2009	John Casselman	For myriad contributions as a researcher, mentor, and leader, and for coordinating multi-national projects and pursuits to understand fish populations and their production through age and growth data, and using this information to understand the effects of climate change on fisheries and exotic species invasions and impacts.
2008	Jan Ciborowski	For innovative leadership in the Lake Erie Millennium Plan to define and understand Lake Erie's most pressing problems, to propose solutions, and to track results. Also, for his ongoing pursuits and projects in assessing indicators of ecological health in the Great Lakes coastal region using fish and invertebrates as barometer.
2007	Gary Isbell	For career-long efforts to improve the fishery, to prevent invasive species, to advance sea lamprey control, to improve habitat, and to support the Joint Strategic Plan process.
2006	Phil Ryan	For outstanding work to convey and incorporate rapidly emerging and complex ecological processes into practical fisheries management.

YEAR	RECIPIENT	REASON
2005	Ed Mills	For his scientific leadership, for his work to strengthen the ecosystem approach to science and fisheries management, and for his many contributions to Great Lakes research.
2004	Phil Moy	For tireless leadership in the effort to prevent the migration of Asian carp into the Great Lakes.
2003	Randy Eshenroder	For contributions to the restoration of Great Lakes fish species.
2002	Tom Gorenflo Mark Holey Kelley Smith	For their successful negotiation of the Tribal Fishing Agreement between the State of Michigan and the Chippewa-Ottawa Treaty Fishery Management Authority.
2000	Ed Crossman	For his adherence to the highest principles of science in dedicated service to the long-term protection of the Great Lakes ecosystem.